Alonzo Russell Makes Watch List for CFPA National Freshman of th - Toledo (OH) News, Weather and Sports

Courtesy: UT Sports Information

Alonzo Russell Makes Watch List for CFPA National Freshman of the Year Award

Posted: Updated:

Toledo freshman wide receiver Alonzo Russell (Washington, D.C.) was one of 28 players named to the "watch list" for the College Football Performance Awards National Freshman of the Year.

Russell is one of only two players from the Mid-American Conference to make the list (Jamie Wilson of Western Michigan is the other). Russell has 38 receptions and is fifth in the MAC with 653 receiving yards. He ranks second in the league in average yards per catch (17.2).

Previous CFPA Freshman of the Year recipients include Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller (2011), South Carolina running back Marcus Lattimore (2010), and Oregon running back LaMichael James (2009).

2012 National Freshman Performer of the Year Watch List:

Amari Cooper, Alabama Wide Receiver
T.J. Yeldon, Alabama Running Back
Jamaal Williams, BYU Running Back
Cory James, Colorado State Linebacker
Davante Adams, Fresno State Wide Receiver
Todd Gurley, Georgia Running Back
Keith Marshall, Georgia Running Back
Will Gregory, Hawaii Running Back
Landon Foster, Kentucky Punter
Kenneth Dixon, Louisiana Tech Running Back
Jeremy Hill, LSU Running Back
Kevin Grooms, Marshall Running Back
Stefon Diggs, Maryland Wide Receiver
Duke Johnson, Miami Running Back
Marcus Mariota, Oregon Quarterback
Storm Woods, Oregon State Running Back
Austin Lopez, San Jose State Placekicker
Trevone Boykin, TCU Quarterback
Devonte Fields, TCU Defensive Lineman
Jaden Oberkrom, TCU Placekicker
Johnathan Gray, Texas Running Back
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M Quarterback
Alonzo Russell, Toledo Wide Receiver
Austin Brown, UAB Quarterback
Brett Hundley, UCLA Quarterback
Leonard Williams, USC Defensive Lineman
Jordan Nielsen, Utah State Defensive Lineman
Jaime Wilson, Western Michigan Wide Receiver