Shafir Selected as Candidate for 2012-13 Senior CLASS Award for - Toledo (OH) News, Weather and Sports

Courtesy: UT Sports Information

Shafir Selected as Candidate for 2012-13 Senior CLASS Award for Second Straight Season

Posted: Updated:

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. - Toledo fifth-year senior Naama Shafir has been selected as one of 30 NCAA® women's basketball student-athletes for the 2012-13 Senior CLASS Award. Shafir is the first player in the storied history of the Rockets' program to make the watch list and the only representative from the Mid-American Conference in 2012-13.

Shafir is earning this prestigious preseason honor for a second consecutive season. Last year, she was announced as a candidate before suffering a season-ending right knee injury at Indiana in the fourth game of the season (Nov. 25).

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition.

On the court, the 2012-13 MAC Player of the Year candidate has appeared in the starting lineup in all 106 games of her collegiate career. The three-time all-league selection currently sits fourth in Toledo annals in career assists (569), fifth in free throws made (441), eighth in scoring average (13.7 ppg) and free-throw percentage (76.8%, 441-of-574) and 10th in points (1,452), steals (168) and minutes played (3,210). The four-time All-MAC West Division Preseason recipient has scored in double figures on 76 occasions in career, including three double-doubles. She has also dished out at least six assists 44 times while wearing the Midnight Blue & Gold.

In the classroom, Shafir is a two-time Academic All-MAC honoree and a member of UT's Dean's List on five occasions, including a perfect 4.0 GPA in Spring 2012. She currently possesses a 3.581 grade-point average in business.                                                                                                        

In the community, Shafir and the Rockets have been involved in such projects as the Susan G. Komen "Race for the Cure," Ovarian Cancer Walk, Habitat for Humanity, Youth Clinics & Camps, Wendy's Little Dribblers and Sponsor a Family for Christmas, to name few.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2012-13 candidate classes include seven student-athletes who were recognized by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) as 2012 Capital One Academic All-Americans. Ten candidates were also Associated Press All-Americans and 18 players have cumulative GPAs above 3.0. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the NCAA Women's Final Four® in New Orleans on April 7, 9.

The candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

Shafir and the MAC West Division preseason favorite Rockets open their exhibition season on Sunday, Nov. 4 against Wayne State. Tip-off is slated for 2:00 p.m. in Savage Arena. UT's regular season commences five days later at home on Friday, Nov. 9 vs. Arkansas State at 7:00 p.m.



Kayla Alexander, Syracuse

Anne Marie Armstrong, Georgia

Alex Bentley, Penn State

Brittany Chambers, Kansas State

Layshia Clarendon, California

Tiffany Clarke, Vanderbilt

Elena Delle Donne, Delaware

Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame

Caroline Durbin, New Mexico

Shante Evans, Hofstra

Jennifer George, Florida

Angel Goodrich, Kansas

Lily Grenci, Siena

Brittney Griner, Baylor

Whitney Hand, Oklahoma

Tayler Hill, Ohio State

Jacqui Kalin, Northern Iowa

Marissa Kastanek, North Carolina State

Kevi Luper, Oral Roberts

Anna Martin, DePaul

A'dia Mathies, Kentucky

Victoria McGowan, Stetson

Drey Mingo, Purdue

Ta'Kenya Nixon, Eastern Illinois

Kaela Oakes, Idaho State

Chelsea Poppens, Iowa State

Jaime Printy, Iowa

Sugar Rodgers, Georgetown

Rachel Semansky, Montana State