Randy Rowe ECHL Sportsman of the Year - 13abc.com Toledo (OH) News, Weather and Sports

Courtesy: ECHL

Randy Rowe ECHL Sportsman of the Year

Posted: Updated:

Toledo Walleye forward Randy Rowe is the recipient of the Sportsmanship Award for 2012-13 as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.

The award is presented annually to the player who is judged to have exhibited the best sportsmanship combined with a high standard of playing ability.

Rowe has tallied 28 points (13g-15a) in 60 games this season, while being assessed only 19 minutes in penalties. Over the course of his 12-year ECHL career, Rowe has never had more than 38 penalty minutes in a season.

Earlier this season, the Burford, Ontario native became just the seventh player in the 25-year history of the ECHL to reach the 600 games played plateau. Rowe ranks 14th in ECHL history with 235 goals and is tied for 18th all-time with 532 points. He has played in 621 career ECHL games with Peoria, Johnstown, Charlotte, Trenton and Toledo, and was named Most Valuable Player of the 2004 All-Star Game in Peoria.


Casey Pierro-Zabotel of Gwinnett finished second, followed by Colorado's Trent Daavettila, Nick Mazzolini of Alaska and Florida's Mathieu Roy.

ECHL Sportsmanship Award Winners
2012-13          Randy Rowe, Toledo Walleye
2011-12          Kevin Ulanski, Colorado Eagles
2010-11          Brian Swanson, Alaska Aces
2009-10          Barret Ehgoetz, Cincinnati Cyclones
2008-09          Travis Morin, South Carolina Stingrays
2007-08          Jeff Campbell, Gwinnett Gladiators
2006-07          Derek Nesbitt, Idaho Steelheads
2005-06          Steve Saviano, Florida Everblades
2004-05          Kris Goodjohn, Gwinnett Gladiators
2003-04          Mark Pederson, San Diego Gulls
2002-03          Rejean Stringer, Columbia Inferno
2001-02          Ben Stafford, Trenton Titans
2000-01          Jamie Ling, Dayton Bombers
1999-00          Jamie Ling, Dayton Bombers
1998-99          Jamie Ling, Dayton Bombers
1997-98          Cal Ingraham, Tallahassee Tiger Sharks
1996-97          Mike Ross, South Carolina Stingrays