Chase Elliott Among Growing List of ARCA Testers at Kentucky Spe - Toledo (OH) News, Weather and Sports

Courtesy: ARCA

Chase Elliott Among Growing List of ARCA Testers at Kentucky Speedway

Posted: Updated:

The upcoming ZLOOP 150 ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards race at Kentucky Speedway marks the tour's 20th appearance on the 1.5-mile Sparta, Kentucky track since debuting there in 2000.

To get ready for ARCA's return to Kentucky - it's been since 2009 - the series is conducting an all-day open test Thursday, July 18 from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., with an hour break for lunch at noon.

The test session is already generating a great deal of interest among some high-profile players, including 17-year-old Chase Elliott, who became the youngest superspeedway winner in history with his victory at Pocono Raceway back in June. Elliott, driver of the No. 9 Aaron's Dream Chevrolet, is the son of NASCAR champion Bill Elliott. Chase has eight career ARCA starts with five top-five finishes and seven top-10s.

In addition, Venturini Motorsports is coming full-pull with five drivers in its line-up, including 17-year-old Erik Jones, who finished second to Elliott at Pocono. Also entered from the Venturini team are New Castle, Indiana's Caleb Armstrong, Baltimore, Maryland's Justin Boston, Caracas, Venezuela's Milka Duno and Shelby Township, Michigan's Taylor Ferns. Ferns is testing in an effort to get approved to race at Pocono in early August and Kentucky.

Other expected entrants include Brentwood, Tennessee's Mason Mingus, currently second in national championship standings to leader Frank Kimmel.

Cherry Hill, New Jersey's Tom Hessert, currently third in championship points, is also scheduled to test for Cunningham Motorsports. Rookie Michael Lira, of Port Orange, Florida, is scheduled to test for Bill Kimmel Racing.

Past ARCA winners at Kentucky - an impressive group - include Tim Steele, Ryan Newman (career-first superspeedway victory), Kimmel, Kyle Busch, Steve Wallace, Michael McDowell, Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., James Buescher and Parker Kligerman to name a few.