Toledo Mud Hens- Weber Named to IL Hall of Fame - Toledo (OH) News, Weather and Sports

Courtesy: Mud Hens

Toledo Mud Hens- Weber Named to IL Hall of Fame

Posted: Updated:

Long-time Toledo Mud Hens broadcaster Jim Weber will be inducted into the International League Hall of Fame as a member of the Class of 2014.


Weber is the first  broadcaster to be elected into the IL Hall of Fame.  In addition to his radio broadcasting duties, he also works on the club's television broadcasts and has served as Toledo's traveling secretary since 1984.


Weber began his play-by-play career with the Mud Hens in 1975. This past season, Weber called his 5,000th consecutive game for the Hens during his 39th season at the microphone, the longest tenure of any announcer in the International League.


"What an outstanding accomplishment this is for Jim," says Mud Hens President and General Manager Joe Napoli.  "His broadcasts have entertained our fans through the years and his dedication and love for this team can be heard in the call of the game."


Rounding out the Class of 2014 is former League MVP Jeff Manto and current Scranton/WB RailRiders manager Dave Miley.


Only three IL Hall of Famers have ever spent time in the League in an on-field capacity after their induction, one player (Rocky Nelson) and two managers (Tommy Thomas and George Toporcer).  Dave Miley will join this list in 2014, along with Class of 2013 inductee Larry Parrish, who is returning to Toledo as manager.


The IL Hall of Fame, established in 1947, was dormant from 1964 until the League's 125th Anniversary season in 2008. Following a three-year transition period (2008-10) in which a total of 50 individuals were inducted after having been selected by a committee, the Class of 2014 was the fourth chosen by what will continue to serve as the annual election process.  Each year the top three vote-getters who also receive a vote on the majority of ballots returned will be elected.