No. 2 Ohio State Set to Compete at 2014 Big Ten Championships - Toledo (OH) News, Weather and Sports

Courtesy: OSU

No. 2 Ohio State Set to Compete at 2014 Big Ten Championships

Posted: Updated:
The No. 2 Ohio State women’s rowing team opens the postseason this weekend, traveling to Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis, Ind., for the 2014 Big Ten Championships Sunday, May 18 at 9 a.m. ET. The Buckeyes, defending national and conference champions, look to claim their fifth conference title overall and their third program title in four years.

Hosted by the Indianapolis Rowing Center for the fourth consecutive year, the 2014 Big Ten Championships are scheduled to begin Sunday at 9 a.m. ET as a seven-lane finals-only regatta with the winner of the team event named the conference champion.

Ohio State claimed the 2013 Big Ten Rowing Championship in record fashion, earning a championship record 160 points after placing first in five of seven events. The title marked the fourth conference title in program history for the Buckeyes, and their second in three years as they previously claimed the title in 2011.

Michigan leads the conference with five championships, while Ohio State has captured four, Michigan State has won three and Minnesota and Wisconsin have each claimed one.