Toledo Speedway Winners - Toledo (OH) News, Weather and Sports

Courtesy: ARCA

Toledo Speedway Winners

Posted: Updated:
A trio of drivers made it 2 wins in 2 tries in their respective divisions Friday night at Toledo Speedway.  Ron Allen, Dennis Whisman and Tommy O'Leary IV visited the 7-Up Winner's Circle again at the Glass City oval.  The speedway also hosted its annual Racer's Reunion Night, honoring former racers during intermission.

The 35 lap ARCA Aramark Sportsman feature was slowed early on by several yellow flags.  Chad Guinn took the lead at the start, but had something break on the front suspension of his machine entering turn 4, sending him into the wall and ending his night.  Ron Allen took control from that restart and sailed to win number 2 of the year over Howard Kelley Jr.  Kelley, who started 8th, got around Mike Young on a restart with 5 to go to capture second, third was Young, fourth went to Jim Froling and fifth was Norm Lewallen.  Greg Stilwell, Tommy O'Leary IV, Chad Stilwell, Andy Harding and Kent McCloskey completed the top ten.  Allen set fast time at 17:314 and also took the fast heat win.  Kelley Jr. captured the other heat race victory.

Another wild ARCA Praxair Figure 8 feature saw 3 different leaders.   Ian Jezylo ran strong out front as he grabbed the top spot on the start.  On lap 7, Robbie Loving slid by Ian to take over the lead, but the mechanical gremlins ended Robbie's bid for the win as his car stalled several laps later.  Dennis Whisman inherited the point as the race stayed green, avoided some wild intersection traffic and scored his second win in as many races at Toledo in 2014.  Jeremy Vanderhoof was a few car lengths behind at the finish for second, Jeremy Miller grabbed third, Jezylo took fourth and fifth went to Danny Apperson, followed by rookies Race Loving, David Katafiasz and John Lambert.  Scott Apperson and Robbie Loving completed the top ten.  Heat race winners were Dan Apperson and Vanderhoof.

Defending champion Tommy O'Leary IV swept the night in the ARCA R & M Recycling X Car class, setting quick time (11:329), notching the heat win and his second feature win in the 25 lap main event.  Kyle Worley, Dennis Whisman, Craig Osenbaugh, James McClure and Archie Padgett trailed the winner.

Friday, June 6 Toledo Speedway will host the Discount Tire 100 for the ARCA Discount Tire Gold Cup Late Model Series.  The 100 lap feature on the big ½ mile paved oval will see the top Late Model drivers battle for the win.  The ARCA Aramark Sportsman and the Great Lakes Mini Cup Cars will also be in action.  Practice begins at 4, time trials are at 6 and racing begins at 7:30 p.m.