Toledo Speedway Wrap Up - Toledo (OH) News, Weather and Sports

Courtesy: ARCA

Toledo Speedway Wrap Up

Posted: Updated:
A good crowd made the trip to Toledo Speedway for Friday night's All American Coach/Super Fitness/Hemelgarn Racing "Fastest Short Track Show in the World".  Canadian Ryan Litt scored the victory in the Auto Value/Bumper to Bumper Super Sprint Series feature, while Trent Stephens sailed to the win in the MSA Super Modified race.  Tom McGuire and his family presented the 5 foot trophies to the winners in the 7-Up Winner's Circle.

The qualifying session brought a good amount of fans early to witness the incredible speeds and a chance that both track records could fall.  A brutal crosswind out of the west may have had a little to do with no new records, but DJ Shullick came up just short of the Super Modified record, clocking in at 12:926.  Chris Perley's 2009 mark was safe at 13:896.  A total of 6 Auto Value Sprint drivers dipped into the 12's, led by Ryan Gillenwater at 12:619.  Litt (12:624), Davey Hamilton (12:656), Kyle Edwards (12:863), Jimmy McCune (12:863) and Jason Blonde (12:986) were the other drivers to get in the 12 second bracket.  The classic race continues to amaze fans with the speeds and great wheel to wheel racing, and, the third groove that was utilized by both groups during both qualifying and the races added to the awe and excitement!

The 30 lap Auto Value Super Sprint feature began with trouble for Gillenwater before the green flag.  On the pace lap, Ryan's car jumped out of gear and the problem could not be fixed for the fast qualifier, as Ryan would watch from pit road.  Jason Blonde took charge of the race on the green flag, with hometown favorite McCune hot on his nerf bar.  Hamilton dropped out on lap 4 as the torrid pace continued.  McCune reeled in Blonde, but his engine went up in smoke on lap 12, ending his night.  Litt was on the fly and after a couple of yellow flags for minor issues, Ryan sailed by Blonde on his way to the win and putting his name in the record books.  Blond took second, Davey Hamilton Jr. was third, with Troy DeCaire fourth via a penalty of 2 spots for jumping the last re-start of the event.  Travid Minea took fifth, followed by Cody Gallogly, Dustin Daggett, Kevin Feeney, Jeff Bloom and Frank Neill.  Daggett, DeCaire and Blonde took the heat race wins.

Defending MSA champion Trent Stephens took the lead from Mike McVetta on lap 5 and zipped his way in and out of traffic, using at times the 3rd groove to win the 40 lap MSA Super Modified contest.  DJ Shullick tried to apply the pressure to Trent as the laps wound down, but it was all Stephens as he flew to the checkered flag, with Shullick second, Charlie Schultz third, Jon Henes fourth and Jim Paller fifth.  A.J. Lesiecki, Sondi Eden, McVetta, Kyle Edwards and Kevin Jaycox Jr. completed the top ten.  Schultz and Stephens notched heat race wins.

It's back to stock car racing Friday, June 20 at Toledo, as Glass Bowl Lanes presents Kid's Night!  Kids to age 14 will be admitted FREE and receive a free hot dog!  Parents should pick up the kids ticket at the ticket office upon arrival to the track next Friday night. 

The ARCA Aramark Sportsman, ARCA Praxair Figure 8's and the ARCA R & M Recycling X Cars will all be in action.  The X Cars will run a pair of 25 lap main events June 20.

While race time remains with a 7:30 p.m. start, the gate times have been altered slightly for the "weekly" race cards.  The pit gate opens at 4:30, the front gates open at 5:30, and practice will begin at 5:30.  Time trials are at 6:30 and racing goes at 7:30 p.m.

Toledo Speedway is located on Benore Road at the I-75/Alexis Road exit on the Michigan-Ohio border.  The track phone number is 419-727-1100.