ARCA's Chicago roots go back to Soldier Field - Toledo (OH) News, Weather and Sports

Courtesy: ARCA

ARCA's Chicago roots go back to Soldier Field

Posted: Updated:
The ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards will again be steering for Chicagoland Speedway for the Ansell ActivArmr 150 Saturday, July 19, marking the 14th consecutive appearance of the 62-year-old tour on the 1.5-mile speedway in Joliet, Illinois.

While ARCA's tenure at Chicagoland is relatively brief, the tour's Chicago connections go back 56 years, almost to the very 1958 when ARCA raced at Soldier Field on July 18. The 100-lap ARCA race at Soldier Field was won by Chicago-area native Fred Lorenzen. Opened in 1924, Soldier Field, home of the Chicago Bears, is the oldest stadium in the National Football League, and, from 1935 - 1968, hosted auto racing.  

Soldier Field, however, is not ARCA's only connection to Chicago-area racing.

ARCA also raced on the now defunct Meadowdale International Raceway road course (Carpentersville, Ill.) in '58, also won by Lorenzen. ARCA returned to Meadowdale in '60 and '64, and would not return to the Chicago area until Chicagoland Speedway debuted the ARCA tour on September 1, 2001 - Ed Berrier the winner.

This year's race event will mark the sixth consecutive season Ansell has been the title sponsor of the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards at Chicagoland.

No Repeat ARCA Winners at Chicagoland
In 13 consecutive ARCA races at Chicagoland, there have been no repeat winners among drivers. Former ARCA Chicagoland winners are Ed Berrier (2001), Chad Blount (2002), Frank Kimmel (2003), Kyle Krisiloff (2004), Dawayne Bryan (2005), Steve Wallace (2006), Michael McDowell (2007), Scott Lagasse, Jr. (2008), Justin Lofton (2009), Patrick Sheltra (2010), Ty Dillon (2011), Kevin Swindell (2012), and Corey LaJoie (2013). LaJoie won the Ansell ActivArmr 150 last year with a last lap pass.

No Repeat ARCA Pole Winners at Chicagoland
In addition to no repeat victories among drivers, there have been no repeat Menards Pole presented by Ansell winners either. Chad Blount (2002), Frank Kimmel (2003), Steve Wallace (2006), Michael McDowell (2007), and Kevin Swindell (2012) won the race from the pole. Other pole winners at Chicagoland include Tim Steele (2001), Stuart Kirby (2004), Joey Miller (2005), Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. (2008), Brian Ickler (2009), Craig Goess (2010), Josh Richards (2011), and Ryan Blaney (2013). The ARCA one-lap track record was set in 2008 by Stenhouse with an average speed of 180.030 mph.

Schedule/Media Coverage
The Ansell ActivArmr 150, live on FOX Sports 2 at 5:00 p.m. central, will precede the same-night NASCAR Nationwide Series 300. Menards Pole Qualifying presented by Ansell will accompany raceday activities at 1:30. Practice for the Ansell ActivArmr 150 will take place Friday from 3:30 - 5:20. will provide live timing and scoring of all on-track activities Friday and Saturday.

Discount Tickets on Sale Now at Menards
Discount tickets, on sale for $20 each, for the Ansell ActivArmr 150 at Chicagoland Speedway are on sale now at more than 60 Midwest Menards stores up through Friday, July 18.

The stores selling the discounted tickets include Antioch, Batavia, Bolingbrook, Bradley Bridgeview, Carpentersville, Cicero, Clybourn, Crest Hill, Crestwood, Crystal Lake, Dolton, Elgin, Evergreen Park, Fox Lake, Glendale Heights, Griffith, Gurnee, Hammond, Hanover Park, Hodgkins, Homer Glen, Homewood, Joliet, Long Grove, Matteson, Melrose Park, Merrillville, Michigan City, Montgomery, Morris, Morton Grove, Mount Prospect, Naperville, North & Kostner, Peru, Plainfield, Portage, Schererville, Sycamore, Tinley Park, Valparaiso, West Chicago, Woodstock and Yorkville.

10-Time ARCA Champ Frank Kimmel Menards Appearances
In addition to the pre-sale tickets, two Menards stores will host 10-time ARCA Racing Series champion Frank Kimmel for two appearances on Thursday, July 17. Kimmel, driver of the No. 44 Ansell-Menards Toyota, will appear at the Tinley Park store from 4 to 5:30 p.m. and the Matteson Menards from 6:30 to 8 p.m.

The race will be stop No. 11 of 20 on the 2014 ARCA Racing Series schedule. For the complete series schedule, visit