Autograph Night Takes over Toledo Speedway - Toledo (OH) News, Weather and Sports

Courtesy: ARCA

Autograph Night Takes over Toledo Speedway

Posted: Updated:
Clear skies returned to Toledo Speedway Friday evening as the track hosted the Teamsters Local 20/Glass Bowl Lanes Autograph Night and Kid's Night.  A large number of kids enjoyed free admission and a hot dog, courtesy of Sherwood Foods, Jim's Butcher Shop and Schwebel Baking Company. 

On the track, Dan Apperson notched his first win of 2014 in the 20 lap ARCA Praxair Figure 8 feature event.  The race was filled with the usual wild intersection traffic and daring moves to avoid a crash!  Dennis Whisman chased Dan across the line to take second, Dan's son, Scott, was third, Jeremy Vanderhoof was fourth and Race Loving fifth, followed by Randy Roberts, David Katafiasz, John Lambert, Ian Jezylo, Dave Lambert and Robbie Loving.  Roberts and Vanderhoof captured the heat races.

The MCR Dwarf Cars made the trip to Toledo, with Stephen Bobek setting fast time (10:506) and grabbing the 25 lap feature victory over Troy Hoffman, Jeff Slayton, Dave Wylie, Kim Hughes, Eric Hoffman, Shonda Harbin, Kevin Ayers, Roger Balcom, Rick Ayers and Ed LaRoe Jr.  Kevin Ayers and Troy Hoffman captured the heat race wins.

Mike Young sailed to the checkered flag to capture the 35 lap ARCA Aramark Sportsman feature race on the ½ mile paved oval.  Young had pressure from Jim Froling and Ron Allen, but Mike was up to the task as he scored his first win of the season in his #23 machine.  Froling and Allen finished 2-3, with Tom O'Leary IV in fourth and Kenny McKay Jr. fifth, followed by Andy Harding, Kent McCloskey, Chad Stilwell, William Tesack, Dan Grigsby, Howard Kelley Jr., David Hinjosa and Chad Guinn.  Young and Stilwell took the heat race wins, while Froling set fast time at 17:369.

Tom O'Leary IV, doing double duty behind the wheel Friday night, cruised to his 3rd win of the year in the 25 lap ARCA R & M Recycling X Car feature race over Dennis Whisman, Archie Padgett, Craig Osenbaugh, Joe Vanderhoof and James McClure.  Padgett was the heat winner and O'Leary IV set fast time at 11:612.

Toledo Speedway's racing action will be on Wednesday night this week, and the speedway will be dark on the 4th of July (Friday).  An all-open wheel show is ready for July 2 as Hemelgarn Racing and Super Fitness present the Rollie Beale Classic-King of the Wing Sprint Car Shootout!  The winged Sprinters, at incredible speeds, will see drivers from 8 states and Canada vying for the win in the 40 lap feature.  The Top Speed Modified Tour will also be in action on the ½ mile, with the USAC Honda HPD Midgets on the ¼ mile.

Fans can save $5 a ticket if purchased before Tuesday, July 1 at 5 p.m.  Most major credit cards are accepted for phone orders.  The track office number is 419-727-1100.

The pit gates open at 1:30, practice begins at 3, time trials are at 5:30 and racing begins at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday night, July 2.