Three more Ohio counties go ‘purple’, 11 now on Level 4 COVID watchlist, including Wood County

Three more counties have been elevated to purple on the advisory map.
Three more counties have been elevated to purple on the advisory map.(Ohio Department of Health)
Published: Nov. 25, 2020 at 5:35 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

COLUMBUS (WTVG) – Montgomery, Lake and Lorain counties have moved to the highest risk level (purple or level 4) of the state advisory system.

Franklin County remains at the highest risk level for the second week and 11 counties have moved to the watch list in the system.

Montgomery, Lake and Lorain are moving to purple in the alert system because they are experiencing sustained increases in outpatient, emergency, and hospital visits by COVID-19 patients.

The 11 counties moving to the watch list are: Adams, Clermont, Hamilton, Medina, Portage, Richland, Stark, Summit, Trumbull, Warren, and Wood Counties.

These counties meet enough indicators to be considered at risk level 4 or purple, because of the sustained impact on healthcare utilization. However, the system requires them to meet these criteria for two weeks in a row to ensure a consistent trend in the data before they become purple.

Ten of the 11 counties on the watch list are in the Akron and Cincinnati regions, which now have fewer adult ICU beds available. This is largely due to increases in COVID-19 ICU patients.

“The ongoing high prevalence of the virus throughout Ohio, as reflected in today’s alert system update, is very dangerous as we move into the holidays,” said Governor Mike DeWine. “We have heard again this week from hospital administrators and front-line staff about how they are overwhelmed. It is imperative that Ohioans take the virus and this current situation seriously.”

Copyright 2020 WTVG. All rights reserved.