Multiple Lucas County schools drop mandatory masking policy

Published: Oct. 26, 2021 at 3:14 PM EDT|Updated: Oct. 26, 2021 at 6:17 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

WHITEHOUSE, Ohio (WTVG) - The Anthony Wayne, Maumee, Perrysburg, and Sylvania school districts announced Tuesday that they will be dropping their mandatory masking policy for students and staff in light of new rules developed by the Ohio Department of Health. Oregon followed on Wednesday, and Washington Local announced it would drop its requirement Thursday.

The new policy will go into effect Wednesday for Anthony Wayne, Perrysburg, and Sylvania. Maumee’s mandate will drop on Monday, November 1, as well Washington Local’s.

The state’s “Mask to Stay” option requires those who come into contact with someone with COVID-19 to wear a mask for 14 days after the initial exposure. The school districts highly recommend that students and staff wear masks to eliminate the potential for a quarantine during exposure at school.

All students and staff are still required to wear a mask on a school bus or van per the requirements of the Federal Government. This mask requirement on buses and vans is set to expire on January 18.

See a spelling or grammar error in our story? Please include the title when you click here to report it.

Copyright 2021 WTVG. All rights reserved.