13abc honored with 11 Associated Press award nominations

By  | 

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WTVG) - 13abc Action News is honored to receive 11 nominations for excellence in the Ohio Associated Press Media Editors 2016 radio and television contest.

The competition is for news, weather and sports reporting, as well as for categories such as features, documentaries and photography for news coverage in 2016.

We're thankful to be recognized with a nomination in the Best Newscast category for coverage on election night. Our anchors reported to our viewers live in the field, from a local polling location. Reporters and photojournalists spanned out for live reports across six counties in northwest Ohio and southeast Michigan. Our election night coverage is also nominated in the Best Coverage of a Scheduled Event category.

I-Team reporter Shaun Hegarty is nominated for best investigative reporting for his work on "Behind School Doors". The piece involved months of research and exposed the criminal past of the man at the top of a program with a goal of helping students.

13abc's Bill Hormann is nominated in the Best Anchor category. Tony Geftos is up for an award in both the Best Reporter and Broadcast Writing categories. 13abc Action News producer Kristen Fofrich is recognized with a nomination for Best Producer.

13abc Action Sports is up for a nomination in the Best Sportscast category.

13abc's Bill Hormann and Brigette Burnette are both nominated in the Best Continuing Coverage category, competing against each other for the top spot.

In addition, 13abc's Alexis Means and Todd Gaertner were named finalists in the category Best Enterprise Reporting for their work with officers "Waging the War against Heroin." The story focuses on the daily fight involving police officers and drugs in our community.

13abc received the most nominations of any Toledo television station. The final award winners will be announced during an awards banquet in Columbus on May 21.