DeWine mandates masks in public for seven 'red' counties

Published: Jul. 7, 2020 at 2:31 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

People living in Ohio counties that enter the 'red' designation for the state's

will be required to wear masks in public, Governor Mike DeWine announced Tuesday.

With increasing cases of COVID-19 throughout the state, it's the first step the governor has made toward mandating masks, after months of questioning from the press, and similar actions by governors throughout the country.

The counties currently in the red, meaning they meet four our five of the indicators set by the health advisory, include: Butler, Cuyahoga, Franklin, Hamilton, Huron, Montgomery and Trumbull counties.

Ohio Update

HAPPENING NOW: Gov. DeWine, Lt. Gov. Husted provide an update on the state's continued response to COVID-19.

Posted by 13abc on Tuesday, July 7, 2020

When asked about enforcement, DeWine said the violation would be a misdemeanor.