Governor DeWine Declares State of Emergency in 20 Ohio Counties

COLUMBUS, Ohio (WTVG) - Ohio Governor Mike DeWine announces a state of emergency in 20 Ohio counties impacted by damaging flooding last month.

Ohio counties included in the governor’s emergency proclamation include: Adams, Athens, Brown, Gallia, Guernsey, Hocking, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Vinton, and Washington.

“Many of these counties were still recovering from last year’s severe flooding when they were hit hard yet again,” said Governor DeWine. “This is a key step in getting these 20 counties the assistance they need.”

The counties suffered significant infrastructure damage from heavy rains beginning February 5 and lasting through February 13, creating “dangerous and damaging conditions affecting the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Ohio,” according to the governor’s proclamation.

The state of emergency proclamation authorizes various state departments and agencies to coordinate the state and federal response and to assist local government in protecting the lives, safety, health, and property of the residents of Ohio.