Ohio Clean Energy Jobs Alliance formed

Published: Oct. 11, 2018 at 5:07 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

A coalition of community leaders, elected officials, business and labor organizations announced the formation of the Ohio Clean Energy Jobs Alliance. The coalition will engage legislators, policymakers and the public to highlight the employment, economic, environmental and grid reliability benefits provided by Ohio’s two nuclear power facilities.

The Davis Besse plant in Ottawa County and Perry plant in Lake County are scheduled to close by 2022. The alliance is seeking a public policy solution that will allow the facilities to remain open into the future, according to a media release obtained by 13abc.

"We are here to urge our elected leaders to take the necessary steps to save the Davis Besse and Perry nuclear power stations," said Lake County Commissioner Jerry Cirino. "Allowing these facilities to shut down will have a devastating economic impact on their local communities. The operation of Ohio’s nuclear stations contributes over 500 million dollars annually to the state’s economy. Over 4000 jobs are at stake."

"We cannot afford to lose this enormous economic driver and the jobs they provide," said Dorsey Hager, Secretary Treasurer of the Columbus/Central Ohio Building Trades. "Once these jobs are gone, especially living-wage union jobs, they seldom come back. On top of that, a recent study estimates that if the plants close, the typical Ohio resident’s electric bill will steadily increase and could be as much as $68 more a year by 2029. That’s a hit our families can’t afford."

"In Ottawa County, we like to say Davis Besse not only lights our homes, it powers our economy,” said Ottawa County Improvement Corporation Director Jamie Beier Grant. "We attract dynamic companies across commercial and industrial segments because we offer some of the lowest industrial electric rates in the Midwest. If the stations close, it is estimated it will cost Ohio customers $4.2 billion more for electricity between 2022 and 2029. That’s potentially a crippling blow to our local economy."

"Our schools and local governments have immensely benefited from our community energy partner Davis Besse," said Guy Parmigian, superintendent of the Benton-Carrol-Salem School District in Ottawa County. "We have also felt the pain and lost tax revenue from the station’s uncertain future. If the station closes permanently, we will likely have to make deep cuts in our district budget."

Current members of the Ohio Clean Energy Jobs Alliance are listed below and additional members will be added to our website as they join:

Government Officials

Dan Horrigan, Mayor of Akron

Guy Parmigian, Superintendent of Benton-Carroll-Salem School District

Jerry Cirino, Lake County Commissioner

Daniel Troy, Lake County Commissioner

Bernie Quilter, Lucas County Clerk of Courts

Scott Marn, Councilman, City of Mentor Councilman

John Krueger, Council President, City of Mentor

Ed Klco, Mayor of North Perry Village

Mike Cutler, North Perry Village Councilman

Brian Titus, North Perry Village Councilman

Rick Walker, North Perry Village Councilman

Don Douglas, Mayor of Oak Harbor

Jack Thompson, Superintendent of Perry Local Schools

Robert Dawson, Perry Township Trustee

James McDonald, Fire Chief, Perry Joint Fire District

James Sass, Ottawa County Commissioner

Mark Coppeler, Ottawa Country Commissioner

Mark Stahl, Ottawa County Commissioner

Ilene Shapiro, Summit County Executive

Labor Leaders

Martin Mahon, Business Manager, Boilermakers Local 744

Dorsey Hager, Executive Secretary-Treasurer, Columbus/Central Ohio Building & Construction Trades Council

Dave Wondolowski, Executive Secretary, Cleveland Building and Construction Trades Council

Dave Kirven, East Central Ohio Building Trades

Tim Exton, President, Carpenters Local 435

Patrick Corrigan, Business Manager, Heat and Frost Insulators Local 3

Larry J. Tscheme, Business Manager, I.B.E.W. Local 245

Dennis Meaney, Business Manager, I.B.E.W. Local 38

Mike Muzic, President, I.B.E.W. Local 38

Ed Moore, Business Manager, I.B.E.W. 683

Terence Joyce, Business Manager, Laborers Local 310

Bill Nails, Business Representative, Plasterers Local 526

John Youngberg, Business Manager, Plumbers and Pipe Fitters Union Local 42

Jeff White, Business Manager, Plumbers and Pipe Fitters Union Local 168

Timothy Skinner, Representative, Sprinkler Fitters Local Union 669

David Dudas, Secretary-Treasurer, Teamsters Local 52

Sonny Nardi, President, Teamsters Local 416

Mary Durica, Secretary -Treasurer, Teamsters Local 416

John Fortesque, President, Teamsters Local 436

Debbie Munger, Trustee, Teamsters Local 436

Roberto Paro, President, Teamsters Local 1164

Judy Townsend, Secretary-Treasurer, Teamsters Local 1164

Businesses and Organizations

Greater Akron Chamber of Commerce

Durivage Pattern & Manufacturing

ECU Corporation

Ellis & Watts Global Industries, Inc.



New Green Legacy Services

President, Petros Homes

Perry Economic Development Council

Ottawa County Improvement Corporation

Ottawa County Emergency Management Agency

West Point Paving, Inc.