USDA issues disaster declaration for rain-soaked farms

(MGN / Photo: Ben Husmann / CC BY 2.0)
(MGN / Photo: Ben Husmann / CC BY 2.0)(KCRG)
Published: Jul. 26, 2019 at 5:30 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) issued a disaster declaration after excessive rainfall left farms across Ohio and the Midwest unable to plant their crops on time, or at all.

The USDA’s announcement includes much of northwest Ohio, including Paulding, Wood, and Wyandot counties as primary counties, and Defiance, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Lucas, Mercer, Ottawa, Putnam, and Van Wert counties as contiguous counties.

This disaster declaration will allow for additional relief for impacted farmers including emergency low interest loans, deferred loan payments, and supplementary assistance.

Farmers and producers can visit their local Farm Services Agency office to learn more about the disaster programs offered.

Regarding the declaration, Congressman Bob Latta (R-Bowling Green) released the following statement: