Defending Winner Christian Eckes Leads ARCA Menards Series Practice at Springfield

By  | 

Defending race winner Christian Eckes (No. 15 JBL Audio/Illinois Truck & Equipment Toyota) led the way in practice for this afternoon's ARCA Menards Series Allen Crowe 100 presented by Lucas Oil at the Illinois State Fairgrounds.

Eckes toured the one-mile dirt oval at 33.619 seconds/107.082 miles per hour, just 36 one-thousandths of a second quicker than his Venturini Motorsports teammate and current championship points leader Michael Self (No. 25 Sinclair Lubricants Toyota). Self's fast lap was 33.655 seconds/106.968 miles per hour.

Will Kimmel (No. 69 Kimmel Racing Ford) was third, Springfield native Kelly Kovski (No. 16 Schnap Sewer Service Chevrolet) was fourth, and dirt track veteran Bret Holmes (No. 23 Holmes II Excavation Chevrolet) was fifth.

The practice session was delayed by about 20 minutes as track preparation ran slightly longer than anticipated after rain postponed yesterday's scheduled USAC Silver Crown Series race. There were no incidents throughout ARCA Menards Series practice.

General Tire Pole Qualifying for the Allen Crowe 100 presented by Lucas Oil is scheduled for 12 noon ET/11 am CT, with the green flag on the 100-mile feature event slated for 2:30 pm ET/1:30 pm CT. The race is scheduled for live coverage on MAVTV; ARCARacing.com will have live timing & scoring, live chat, and live track updates throughout the day for registered users.