Fast Facts: ARCA Menards Series Allen Crowe 100 presented by Lucas Oil at the Illinois State Fairgrounds

By  | 

Where: Springfield Mile, Illinois State Fairgrounds, Springfield, Illinois
When: 2:30 pm ET, Sunday, August 18, 2019
Television: MAVTV, Live
Track Length: 1 mile
Most Recent Winner: Christian Eckes, August 19, 2018, 71.200 miles per hour
Most Recent Pole Winner: Gus Dean, August 19, 2019, 106.396 miles per hour
Track Qualifying Record: Mason Mitchell, August 18, 2013, 111.084 miles per hour

• The ARCA Menards Series has sanctioned stock car racing at Springfield every year since 1983. The first two races, including 1984, were co-sanctioned with USAC.
• The first ARCA/USAC co-sanctioned race, was held on June 5, 1983. Dean Roper took the lead from Bobby Jacks on lap 60 to lead the final 41 miles on his way to the win. Jacks finished second in 1983 but turned the tables on the field in 1984 when he took the lead on lap 62 and went on to win.
• Twenty-one drivers have won ARCA Menards Series races at Springfield, led by ten-time series champion Frank Kimmel with eight (2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2008, and 2012). Bob Keselowski, the 1989 series champion, won four times (1987, 1988, 1989, 1993). Inaugural winner Dean Roper won three times (1983, 1985, 1986), and former series champions Bobby Bowsher (1991, 1992), Tim Steele (1996, 1997), and Bill Baird (1999, 2004) are the other multiple-time winners with two each. Single-event winners include Bobby Jacks (1984), Bob Brevak (1990), Bob Hill (1994), Billy Thomas (1995), Ken Schrader (1998), Justin Allgaier (2006), Parker Kligerman (2009), Patrick Sheltra (2010), Chad McCumbee (2011), Brennan Poole (2013), Kevin Swindell (2014), A.J. Fike (2015), Justin Haley (2016), Grant Enfinger (2017), and Christian Eckes (2018).
• There have been ten consecutive races at Springfield, dating back to 2009 when Parker Kligerman won, without a repeat winner.
• Twenty-four drivers have earned at least one General Tire Pole Award at Springfield, led by Frank Kimmel with three (2001, 2003, and 2003). Two-time pole winners include Bobby Jacks (1983, 1986), Bob Brevak (1990, 1992), Bob Hill (1993, 1994), Ken Schrader (1997, 1998), and Damon Lusk (2000, 2006). Drivers with a single pole include Lee Raymond (1984), Scott Stovall (1985), Bob Keselowski (1987), Tracy Leslie (1988), Jack Bowsher (1989), Glenn Brewer (1991), Johnny Spaw (1995), Ed Dixon (1996), Bob Strait (1999), A.J. Fike (2004), Justin Allgaier (2005), Justin Lofton (2009), Steve Arpin (2010), Ty Dillon (2011), Alex Bowman (2012), Mason Mitchell (2013), Austin Theriault (2017), and Gus Dean (2018). Qualifying has been canceled five times (2002, 2007, 2014, 2015, 2016).
• ARCA Menards Series races at Springfield have been won by the General Tire Pole Award winner seven times: Bob Keselowki (1987), Bob Brevak (1990), Bob Hill (1994), Ken Schrader (1998), and Frank Kimmel (2001, 2003, 2008).
• The deepest a winner has started in the field was 25th when A.J. Fike won in 2016. It is his only ARCA Menards Series win to date.
• Four drivers have earned their first career ARCA Menards Series victory at Springfield: Bob Hill (1994), Justin Allgaier (2006), A.J. Fike (2015), and Justin Haley (2016).
• Five drivers earned their final, or most recent, ARCA Menards Series win at Springfield: Bob Keselowski (1993), Bill Baird (2004), Chad McCumbee (2011), Kevin Swindell (2014), and Grant Enfinger (2017).
• The Springfield Mile is a part of the Illinois State Fairgrounds, and the ARCA race is held on the final day of the Illinois State Fair. This year’s fair is the 166th annual. It was first held in 1853 and admission was 25 cents. In 1946, the Illinois State Fair played a key role in the popularization of the corn dog, and also is the home of the world famous “butter cow”, a sculpture of a cow made entirely of butter. They do not keep the corn on the cob concession stands anywhere near the butter cow, for obvious reasons.
• The record for the most cautions in an ARCA Menards Series race at Springfield is 12 for a record 52 laps set in 2000 in a race won by Frank Kimmel. The record for fewest cautions is three in 2012, in a race also won by Frank Kimmel. The 1991 race, won by Bobby Bowsher, was slowed four times by yellows for just 11 laps.
• The record for the most lead changes in an ARCA Menards Series race at Springfield is nine set in 1985 in a race won by Dean Roper. The record for fewest lead changes is one, set in 1983, also a race won by Dean Roper.