Friday Night at Flat Rock

A perfect evening of weather greeted fans for the Friday night special at Flat Rock Speedway. The UAW Local 3000 Night saw 3 divisions in action, with Nick Shanks, Wilburn Parks, Jeremy Vanderhoof and Ethan Stadniczuk taking feature wins. All winners visited the Monroe Asphalt Winner's Circle. The track flipped dates with its sister track, Toledo Speedway, for this weekend only. Saturday night racing at Flat Rock resumes next Saturday, August 17.

Nick Shanks held on to win the 25 lap ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock A Main race. The event had outstanding competition as Scott Selmi, Greg Studt and Rob Randa ran under a blanket in a thrilling finish. David Liaeff was fifth, followed by Clarity Patton, Caleb Barron, Trevor Farmer, LJ Farmer and Max Fair.
Wilburn Parks got by early leader Ian Jezylo and then had to hold off a hard-charging Aaron Greathouse to win the 15 lap ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stock B Main. Ian took third, his son, Adam, was fourth and Taylor Papineau fifth.

Another great finish saw Jeremy Vanderhoof hold back Greg Studt and Jeremy Miller to win the 20 lap ARCA Victory Lane Quick Oil Change Figure 8 contest. Fourth was Billy Earley and fifth was Dennis Whisman Jr. Dave Lambert, James Vanderhoof, Stephanie Bradley, Dennis Whisman, James Pankow and Joe Vanderhoof were next in line at the stripe.

A back and forth battle for the lead kept things exciting in The Vault ARCA Enduro 250 lap feature. The nightcap saw Ed Case lead the first 105 circuits. Ethan Stadniczuk took the point on lap 106 until lap 132 when Derrick Sheppard steamed by for the lead. That pair swapped the lead several times until Stadniczuk took charge on lap 204 and built a sizable lead on his way to the win. Sheppard came home second, Case third, Jacob Thomas fourth and Frank Trupiano fifth. Nathan Sprotberry, Rayce Metdepenningen, Kyle Metdepenningen, Robb Remick and James Rae completed the top 10 finishers in the 24 car field.

Just 2 point race nights remain for the battle for the 2019 track championships at Flat Rock Speedway. Saturday, August 17 the ARCA Moran Chevrolet Late Models, ARCA DTS Drive Train Specialists Street Stocks and the ARCA Victory Lane Quick Oil Change Figure 8's will all be in action for the Saturday night race card. Race time is 7 p.m.