Haskins, Jones Named Semifinalists by Maxwell Football Club

By  | 

The Maxwell Football Club announced today that a pair of Buckeyes – sophomore QB Dwayne Haskins and junior DT Dre’Mont Jones – are semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards, respectively.

The Maxwell Award honors college football’s player of the year while the Bednark Award goes to the nation’s most outstanding defensive player. Haskins and Jones are one of 20 semifinalists on each list.

From Potomac, Md., Haskins is putting together one of the finest seasons that a quarterback has ever enjoyed at Ohio State. He is tied for the national lead with 30 touchdown passes and his 2,801 yards ranks fourth in the country. He’s already set Ohio State single-game records for completions (49), attempts (73) and yards (470) and is currently on a streak of three straight games with 400 or more yards. A four-time Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week, Haskins is the only quarterback in the country who ranks in the top five nationally in nine different statistical categories.

Jones has been a steady performer along the Buckeyes’ defensive line all season. He’s the team leader in both tackles-for-loss (9.0 for minus 38 yards) and sacks (5.5 for minus 42 yards). The fourth-year junior from Cleveland has at least one tackle in all eight games thus far. Against then-No. 15 TCU last month, Jones had a career-high six tackles, 2.0 tackles-for-loss, a sack and a key third-quarter INT return to touchdown to spark a 40-28 victory.

Haskins, Jones and the rest of the Buckeyes return to action on Saturday when they host Nebraska for a noon kickoff.