Lakewood St. Edward, St. Paris Graham and Genoa Area Repeat as Team Champions; D'Emilio Becomes Ohio's 32nd Four-Time State Champion

Published: Mar. 10, 2019 at 4:36 PM EDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Lakewood St. Edward, St. Paris Graham and Genoa Area repeated as individual wrestling team state champions and Genoa Area senior Dylan D'Emilio earned his fourth-straight state title on Saturday at the 2019 OHSAA individual wrestling state tournament at the Jerome Schottenstein Center.

D'Emilio became the 32nd four-time state champion in OHSAA history after pinning New Paris National Trail's Peyton Lane in 1:35. D'Emilio finished his senior season with a 54-3 record, bringing his high school career record to 210-6 and placing him tied for ninth all-time in career wins. D'Emilio led Genoa to its second-straight individual tournament team championship. The Comets have now won back-to-back titles in the OHSAA dual team and individual wrestling state tournaments.

Genoa finished the tournament with a Division III record 172 points. Including D'Emilio's title, the Comets had six wrestlers finish atop the podium and one finish in third. Senior Oscar Sanchez won the Division III 120 pound weight class to become a two-time state champion. Sanchez finished second in the 113 pound class in 2018 and won the 106 pound class in 2017. Senior Julian Sanchez defeated Delta's Cole Mattin 3-1 in the 132 pound class, junior Dustin Morgillo defeated Ashtabula St. John's Nick Burgard 5-1 in the 145 pound class, junior Kevin Contos won 9-2 over Ashland Mapleton's Beau Lefever in the 152 pound class and James Limongi finished an undefeated senior season with a 7-1 win over Ashtabula St. John's Ethan Ducca. Limongi won the 160 pound class in 2017, as well.

In Division II, it was business as usual for St. Paris Graham as the Falcons won their 19th-straight and 21st overall individual tournament team title; however, this is the first title for Graham without Jeff Jordan on the roster as a coach or student-athlete. Coach Jordan retired following the 2018 season after 25 years on the coaching staff and four years as a wrestler. Graham's 21st title came by way of two first-place finishes, a second-place finish, two third-placers and a fourth-place finish. Sophomore Alek Martin won the 138 pound class title with a 6-5 ultimate tiebreaker win over Bishop Hartley's Micah Norwood and senior Jeff Thomas won the 152 pound class with a 6-4 sudden victory over Aurora's Dylan Fishback. The Falcons finished with 123.5 points.

Additionally in Division II, the 69th and 70th three-time state champions were crowned. Cuyahoga Falls CVCA senior twins Jacob and Jordan Decatur won the 113 and 132 pound class, respectively. Jacob won the 113 pound class for the third-straight year with Jordan's previous titles coming in the 132 pound and 126 pound classes.

In the most closely-contested division, Lakewood St. Edward won the Division I team championship for the fifth-straight year, eighth year in the past nine and 21st year in the last 23. The Eagles' 33rd overall title was led by seven wrestlers reaching the championship match, the most by any school in the tournament. Junior Bryce Hepner won the 138 pound class, senior Sam Dover won the 152 pound class, sophomore Padraic Gallagher won the 160 pound class, and senior Seamus O'Malley won the 220 pound class. In the 145 pound class, two-time state champion Bryce Andonian was upset 6-5 in the championship match. St. Edward edged second-place Cincinnati La Salle 194.5 to 186.5. La Salle's 186.5 is the most points by a second-place team across all divisions.

Attendance for session five was 12,195, bringing the tournament's total attendance to 54,797.

Latest News

Latest News