MAC Announces 2017 Academic All-MAC Football Team -- 144 honorees

Published: Dec. 16, 2017 at 9:39 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Eastern Michigan (Sergio Bailey II, Blake Banham, Jason Beck, Jake Donnellon, Paulie Fricano, Juan Giraldo, Jeremiah Harris, Clay Holford, Brody Hoying, Jimmy Leatiota, Luke Maclean, Keyan Marshall, Steven Nielsen, Johnnie Niupalau, Jalen Phelps, Dan Samuelson, Ike Spearman and Breck Turner) topped the 2017 Academic All-MAC squad with 18 selections.

Western Michigan (Lucas Bezerra, Mark Brooks, Mike Caliendo, Stefan Claiborne, Jaret Curtis, Ra’Sean Davie, Mitch Heimbuch, Luke Juriga, Spencer Kanz, John Keenoy, Nick Matich, Odell Miller, Derrick Mitchell, Zach Novoselsky, Giovanni Ricci and Jon Wassink) was second with 16 selections, while Ohio (Kent Berger, Dorian Brown, Austin Clark, Dylan Connor, Austin Conrad, Jared Dorsa, Cody Grilliot, Kyle Kuhar, Troy Mangen, Quinton Maxwell, Andrew Meyer, Quentin Poling, Eric Popp and Jake Pruehs) was third with 14 selections.

There were 11 students named as four-time selections with Vinnie Palazeti (Ball State), Joseph Davidson (Bowling Green), Ryan Hunter (Bowling Green), Nate Locke (Bowling Green), Mark Chapman (Central Michigan), Jeff Perry (Central Michigan), Randy Heideman (Miami), Shane Wimann (Northern Illinois), Dorian Brown (Ohio), Cody Grilliot (Ohio) and Quentin Poling (Ohio).

There were 16 students named as three-time selections: Trevor Roop (Bowling Green), Austin Doan (Central Michigan), Joe Ostman (Central Michigan), Blake Banham (Eastern Michigan), Jason Beck (Eastern Michigan), James Alexander (Kent State), George Bollas (Kent State), Marcus Elliott (Kent State), Christian Hagan (Northern Illinois), Max Scharping (Northern Illinois), Luke Shively (Northern Illinois), Nate Jeppesen (Toledo), Brad Spelman (Toledo), Lucas Bezerra (Western Michigan), Derrick Mitchell (Western Michigan) and Zach Novoselsky (Western Michigan).

In addition, another 43 students were named as two-time Academic All-MAC selections.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.