SJJ graduate Brodbeck earns national recognition

From Wayne State athletics:

Wayne State University redshirt senior tight end Trent Brodbeck (Toledo, Ohio / St. John's Jesuit) has been selected to the Allstate AFCA (American Football Coaches Association) Good Works Team®, which recognizes football student-athletes for their community service efforts.

Brodbeck has been involved in numerous community service events during his first four years in Detroit, including rebuilding/refurbishing a house for Grace Centers of Hope in Pontiac, which assists people struggling with addiction/abuse. He has also been involved in the Basic Needs Drive all four years. This drive sees WSU student-athletes organize, package and distribute basic need items (toiletries, etc.) to the homeless in greater Detroit. This past April, over 70 student-athletes, coaches and staff members prepared over 1,000 basic needs bags inside the Matthaei Center in the morning. The bags were then delivered and passed out at Cass Park, the Neighborhood Service Organization (NSO) and the bus depot in downtown Detroit. Westin Southfield Detroit Hotel was the title sponsor and contributed over 7,000 items for the event.

In addition, Brodbeck has participated both years in the Hashtag Lunch bag event. This past April nearly 70 student-athletes, coaches and staff members prepared over 1,000 lunches at the Hartford Memorial Baptist Church during the morning. The lunches were then delivered and passed out at the Neighborhood Service Organization (NSO) in downtown Detroit. Brodbeck has read to youth at a local elementary school numerous times during his WSU career. He also assisted at the WSU kid's football camps every summer as well as working the Garden City High School kid's football camp in the past.

All State/AFCA Release:

NORTHBROOK, Ill., September 15, 2016 – Allstate Insurance Company and the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) today announced the 24 college football players and one honorary head coach named to the 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®, one of the most coveted off-the-field honors in college football. The Good Works Team® award is celebrating 25 years of recognizing college football players who dedicate their time to bettering the community and the lives of others.

This year, in recognition of the 25th anniversary, Allstate and the AFCA added three additional spots to the team, including an honorary head coach, bringing the final roster to 25 members. Amidst the rivalry, competitiveness and excitement of college football, the contributions made off the field by players and coaches can often times be overlooked. The players named to the Good Works Team® represent the sport's finest in terms of character and leadership, in addition to maintaining good academic standing. To help announce the landmark year of the Good Works Team®, Allstate and the AFCA have also teamed up with two-time national champion, Heisman Trophy winner and 2009 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® member Tim Tebow.

“Allstate has taken great pride in working with the AFCA to recognize student-athletes who go above and beyond to make time for community service, whether they’re helping out at a local soup kitchen or going abroad on a mission trip,” said Thomas Clarkson, president of the west territory for Allstate Insurance Company and a member of the 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team® voting panel. “These young men deserve to be commended for all that they do, and their character and commitment to service is an inspiration for all of us.”

The following players and head coach have been named to the 2016 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®:

NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision

Name Class Pos. School Hometown
Deshaun Watson Jr. QB Clemson University Gainesville, Ga.
Derek McCartney Jr. LB University of Colorado-Boulder Westminster, Colo.
DeVon Edwards RSr. DB Duke University Covington, Ga.
Alec Eberle RSo. OL Florida State University Mechanicsville, Va.
Jeb Blazevich Jr. TE University of Georgia Charlotte, N.C.
KeShun Freeman Jr. DL Georgia Institute of Technology LaGrange, Ga.
Makani Kema-Kaleiwahea RSr. DL University of Hawaii Honolulu, O’ahu
Mike Caprara RSr. LB University of Pittsburgh Turtle Creek, Pa.
Caylin Moore Sr. DB TCU Carson, Calif.
Dane Evans RSr. QB University of Tulsa Sanger, Texas
Oren Burks RJr. LB Vanderbilt University Fairfax Station, Va.
Zach Terrell RSr. QB Western Michigan University Fort Wayne, Ind.
NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III and NAIA

Name Class Pos. School Hometown
Zach Bernhard RSr. LB Ashland University Ashland, Ohio
Drew Neuville Sr. TE Bethel University (Minn.) Green Bay, Wis.
Dan Gallman Sr. OL Carson-Newman University Naples, Fla.
Nate Casey Sr. LB Davidson College Tega Cay, S.C.
Michael Allen Sr. LB University of the Incarnate Word Garland, Texas
Luke Grooters Sr. LB Morningside College Rock Rapids, Iowa
Carl Jones RSr. OL North Carolina Central University Nashville, Tenn.
Corbin Jountti Jr. RB Northern Arizona University Bakersfield, Calif.
Zach Clark Sr. OL Oklahoma Baptist University Oklahoma City, Okla.
Kaymon Farmer Sr. WR Southeastern Oklahoma State University Pittsburg, Texas
Trent Brodbeck RSr. TE Wayne State University (Mich.) Toledo, Ohio
Brett Kasper Jr. QB University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh Two Rivers, Wis.

Honorary Head Coach

Mark Richt, University of Miami